All About Northamptonshire

County Information

Northamptonshire is landlocked between eight other counties: Warwickshire to the west, Leicestershire and Rutland to the north, Cambridgeshire to the east, Bedfordshire to the south-east, Buckinghamshire to the south, Oxfordshire to the south-west and Lincolnshire to the north-east – England's shortest county boundary at 19 metres (62 ft).[3] Northamptonshire is the southernmost county in the East Midlands region.

Apart from the county town of Northampton, other large population centres include Kettering, Corby, Wellingborough, Rushden and Daventry.

Learn More...

Things to do in Northamptonshire

Visit Northamptonshire to see Elizabethan mansions perched in romantic deer parks, sleepy canals, and earls’ residences hidden in English farmland. Northamptonshire knows how to do countryside. Barbour and Dubarrys are essential uniform as horses pound across cross-country courses and Grand Prix cars speed around village circuits. If you’re after something a bit more relaxed then long-distance walkways take you past royal hunting lodges and over viaducts. Along the way you can call in at understated towns with hidden farmers’ markets and classical cathedrals. Or experience Northamptonshire by tranquil canal trip in this water-filled county, with boating lakes and country park reservoirs.


Head Office Location